Bett Norris

Perspectives

P Town

I had a blast, from beginning to end. This was my first trip to Provincetown, and I love this place. I’ll definitely be back next year. The Bywater events were tremendous fun. We met tons of people, readers, fans, and made a lot of new friends.

WomencraftsI can’t say enough great things about Catherine, the owner of Womencrafts, and all the Womencrafts people. They were so good to us. We had a blast there, holding four events over three days, and the store began to feel like home. Please make this a regular stop whenever you go to P Town.

The panel discussion at the Crown and Anchor was a huge success, and Kate Clinton was so generous, and really added a lot to the discussion. My favorite part was when she held up a thick set of typed pages and told everyone, “This is the show I did last night. I wrote it.” She mentioned her master’s in English, the writing workshops she had attended, her influences, and generally kept us on topic when the Bywater authors tried to veer off course. I highly recommend Kate’s newest book, I Told You So, in bookstores now. Get one.

Mari SanGiovanni played hostess and MC and moderator, and she did a wonderful job. She had the audience primed and tickled and titillated before the discussion even started.  She is scathingly funny, witty, and not above attacking her own panel members if the joke is there for the taking. I think she even impressed Kate.

Have I said enough about Kate Clinton? She sat next to me, and the poor thing thought that I was either hyperventilating, or not breathing at all. She patted me on the back a couple of times, as one would a baby, trying to get me to breathe. Wonder why she thought that would calm me down?

The whole thing is a blur really. If anyone has pictures of me gasping like a fish out of water, please send them. I imagine the look on Kate’s face would be priceless.

4 responses to “P Town

  1. Joy October 18, 2009 at 9:07 am

    I’m so glad you had a great time. P-town is a wonderful place. We have always bought something from WomenCrafts when we go. They have a good selection of cool stuff…something for all tastes as I recall. Maybe next year me and B will go and see you there!

    Like

  2. bettnorris October 19, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I had a blast. Hope to see you there next year. Womencrafts is a very cool place indeed.

    Like

  3. Cynn Chadwick October 19, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Was that just the best time ever? I am still reeling from the excitement of it all. I’m so glad you mentioned Kathryn and Womencrafts..she was an amazing host. I was also impressed by the readers who actually came in the rain (thankfully) to both the signings and the early Sat AM panel, where yes, Kate (and the rest of us) worried for your seemingly-shallow-breathing, and the way you clutched the mike to your chest, it appeared to be giving you magical funny powers, or maybe that was just your proximity to Kate.

    I agree, Mari was a top-notch moderator with the mostest, HOT (can we just say) and FUNNY as hell, making Kate crack up, but, YOU, my dear, had all of us rolling on the floor….YOU were the star of the show, I believe.

    And, can I just say two yahoos for Nisa Sangiovanni…we LOVE you, sistah!

    Like

    • bettnorris October 20, 2009 at 5:52 am

      We do love Nisa. She pounded the pavements in rain and wind, shilled for us, handed out cards and flyers, and directed traffic to the bookstore like she was a born carney. I want her at all my book signings. Along with her sister Mari, the writer, who could be a professional comedian herself, but we’ll keep her at Bywater Books, thank you very much.
      Bywater has some very cool authors, yourself included. A writer, with several excellent novels to your credit, you also teach creative writing. That is cool, and Bywater is lucky to have the likes of you. Your next book, Angels and Manners, is the most exciting thing to come to Bywater in some time. I haven’t seen Kelly Smith this pumped about a book in a long time. You rock.

      Like

Leave a Reply

