Bett Norris

Perspectives

Maybe You’re Thinking

Maybe you’re thinking, so what? What’s the big deal about everybody wearing purple today, October 20? That doesn’t really help me. I still have to get up, go to school, and face those cretins who verbally, physically abuse and tease and humiliate me. It’s just another day of awfulness for me. You wear purple and make yourselves feel better. I want out. I want it all to just end.

 

The big deal is this, kid. Look around you. Somewhere today you will see somebody wearing purple. And then you will know you are not alone. Maybe it will be some other kids in school, maybe a teacher. Maybe you’ll see a cop wearing a purple ribbon. And you will know. You are not alone. There is someone who is standing up for me. There is maybe somebody I can turn to and talk to.

Because we aren’t doing this just to make ourselves feel better. We are doing it because we want to help kids like you. Because we want the bullying to end, and we want you to survive and go on. We want you to triumph, and the bullies not to.

If you get harassed today, if somebody gives you a hard time, if you are verbally or physically bullied, do something. Write to me here at this blog, and I’ll talk to you.

Go to: http://www.thetrevorproject.org  and get help. Find that person who is wearing purple, today, for you.

3 responses to “Maybe You’re Thinking

  1. bett October 20, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Well, here I am, dressed in a purple shirt that doesn’t fit, my fat belly hanging out for the world to see. I feel like a perfect freak. But I also like feeling uncomfortable and awkward and self-conscious. For today, I have joined the ranks.
    I explained to a group of co-workers why a bunch of us are wearing purple. They were mad that I didn’t let them know in time. I said hello, heard of Facebook?

    Like

  2. Joy October 20, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Great post, Bett. Well said.

    Like

  3. Julie October 24, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    You’re the best, Bett!

    Like

Leave a Reply

