Bett Norris

Perspectives

The Year That Was, and the Year Ahead

Post 9-11. Post war. We date our lives by big things that happened. In this, the second year since my mother died, I am now able to write those words without euphemism. I count that as progress. I am now able to accept many things I never thought I could.

2010 was a difficult year for me. Those difficulties made possible some remarkable achievements. My partner and I have grown closer because of those hardships. We celebrated our tenth anniversary together. In narrowing our borders, we relied on each other.

DADT was repealed.

I learned to text and tweet.

I regained a sense of humor.

I accepted the things I cannot change.

2011 looms, and it promises to bring better things. Big, exciting things. Bywater Books will be publishing in ebook format. Miss McGhee will be the first ebook release. And the really big news: What’s Best for Jane, my second novel, will be released in the spring! I got a really nice note yesterday from my editor. The kind of thing that makes a writer feel good, all glowing and happy.

March 31-April 2, I will be attending the Queer Studies conference at UNC Asheville.

I will also be at the Saints and Sinners conference in New Orleans next May.

Ya’ll stay warm, and stay tuned. I promise 2011 will be fun.

 

5 responses to “The Year That Was, and the Year Ahead

  1. Lara Zielinsky December 22, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Excellent to hear that 2011 is looking up for you, Bett! I’m looking forward to “What About Jane?”

    Like

  2. Mary Nell December 22, 2010 at 7:05 am

    I can hardly wait for your new book to come out! I will be the first to purchase one – I want to see what happens after the first book…. Have a wonderful Christmas Bett and know you are loved and thought of often…. Mary Nell

    Like

  3. Jill December 22, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Dude! Congratulations! I’m can’t wait to read What’s Best for Jane.

    Like

  4. Jill December 22, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I*

    I can’t wait!

    Like

  5. Robin Christian December 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I am so happy that you and your partner are getting along better. It is definitely hard work, but, oh, it is worth the results!!! Take good care and be prosperous, creative and at peace in the upcoming year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

