Bett Norris

Perspectives

Happy New Year

Someone threw up on my printer. I think I have the suspect list narrowed down, but she’s not talking. While I wait for her to break, I search for meaning in this vile act of vandalism. Am I being bullied because I’m gay? I think so. I’m calling Chely Wright immediately to sing to me.

Now I feel better. I can proceed with my positive and hopeful message for the new year. My theme is that we can all get along. Here’s another song to inspire us all, Repeblicans, Democtrats, Tea partyers, et al, that we can get along.

Bless your hearts, one and all. Even the suspect, who is currently avoiding me.

For all those who have lost loved ones in this past year, next year it will get better, I promise.

 

And to show that out of many, we are one:

I wish everyone a safe, happy, healthy new year.

 

9 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Cynn Chadwick December 31, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Bett, your semsibility continues to delight me. Who starts a New Year’s salutation with throw up and gets away with it? I wish you well my dear. May we all have a healthy and happy New Year…even the cat who threw up in your printer.

    xoC~

    Like

  2. Cynn Chadwick December 31, 2010 at 5:27 am

    sensibility

    Like

  3. Joy December 31, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Thanks for the smile this morning….love your humor. If only poor Kate could share your talent. Bless her heart.
    If you need help on a DNA sample to nail your suspect, let me know. I have connections.
    Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Like

  4. Marianne Martin December 31, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Oh, Bett, you make me smile and chuckle, and then in the next sentence you touch my heart. Thanks for sharing your humor and your honest sense of love. I’m hoping that 2011 will be amazing for you and Sandy and your ‘kids’. One of those, for sure now, is counting on your love and forgiveness 🙂

    Like

  5. Sandy January 1, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Innocent Until Proven Guilty.

    As an equal party in this household, I am compelled to stand by Scout in her moment of embarrassment. The fact is we don’t know for sure if Scout threw up on the printer. It could have been Bett who threw up on her own printer in order to gain attention for herself while causing Scout to suffer kitty-humiliation from wrongful throw-up accusations being splashed all over cyberspace.

    There has to be more to this story.

    …If the cat actually threw up then what happened to the evidence? Bett doesn’t clean up after household cat-tastrophies.
    …The cat in question has a long, ongoing, friendly relationship with the printer and it doesn’t fit that she would throw up on it.
    …would a cat throw up on the spot where she sleeps in the sun all day?

    Who threw up on Bett’s printer? Did Bett throw up on her own printer? Did Bett pay Scout to throw up on her printer?

    I’m just saying…

    Sandy

    Like

  6. Marge January 1, 2011 at 6:33 am

    Happy New Year. Reminding you to not make up wild, ridiculous, false explanations for my absence from work. Remember to eat~

    Like

Leave a Reply

