Bett Norris

Perspectives

It’s All About the House

It is all about the house today. For almost three years now, it has been all about the house. My mother’s will has been left in probate land, or wherever unsettled last wills and testaments go when they don’t get done.

A possible solution to a seemingly unsolvable problem has been proposed.  I am praying that it goes forward and will be accepted by all parties involved, and that finally, my mother’s last wishes are realized.

My own wish that this thing get settled will be achieved too, in a way that I think would make Mama happy. Mother left her house to her four unmarried daughters who received nothing else in the will, hoping to provide us with some means of a cash inheritance when it is sold, or that we four would find a way to keep her house in the family. I think this proposal will do that, and I really hope that this idea would please our mother.

While I wait for the executor and the attorney for the estate to sign off on this idea, I pray. I remember. And I hope that Mama knows I am trying.

6 responses to “It’s All About the House

  1. Mary Nell February 17, 2011 at 7:34 am

    I hope and pray that things do work out for you and your family regarding your Mother’s Will. Know you are in my thoughts………..

    Like

  2. Marianne Martin February 17, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I know it has been a long, emotionally exhausting struggle, Bett. I hope this is indeed the resolution that is needed. My thoughts are with you while you wait.

    Like

  3. Robin Christian February 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    Bett, it is ever so draining emotionally after the loss of one’s mother, I know. I could barely keep up with normal things, let alone what you and your sisters are going through. I hope and pray for you guys to make it through this hard time and find peace with your decisions.
    Take good care
    Peace & Love

    Like

Leave a Reply

