Bett Norris

Perspectives

Something Positive and Hopeful

Okay, so I wrote this piece last week about talking in code which garnered a lot of responses. It was dark and mournful. I feel like most of the people who responded were trying to encourage me not to kill myself.

As it happens, I am not trapped in the depths of despair, at least not often, and not for long.

You want to know what is really depressing? In a casual, just-catching-up email to my editor, I mentioned that the first draft of my next book is not going swimmingly. Actually, it’s not swimming on its own. It is barely keeping its head above water.  You know what my editor had to say to encourage me, to inspire me to keep at it? Nothing. Silence. Crickets chirping. Yawn.

Having read the talking in code piece,  ( link here https://bettnorris.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/talking-in-code/) my editor might be under the impression that the current book is going to be dark and depressing.

Actually, what is making the writing so difficult is that I want it to be funny, filled with laughter.

In any case, the silence disturbed me. That’s when I recalled this little video from Chely Wright, about a similar experience she had with her record label.

 

So to cheer you up, all those who read the piece last week and feared for my mental health.

6 responses to “Something Positive and Hopeful

  1. ElaineB August 29, 2011 at 10:36 am

    You should be getting a conference call any minute now…

    Wishing you the best,
    Elaine

    Like

    • bettnorris August 30, 2011 at 1:25 am

      Yes, I feel it too. A general lowering of all affects, the skies darken, and impending doom approaches. Yet all is not yet lost. There has to be a morning after. Maureen McGovern.

      Like

  2. Andi Marquette August 29, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Bett, it’s dark. Your manuscript might need a warning label. I took the liberty of writing one for you:

    WARNING: the writer of this manuscript is fully aware that the subject matter might cause sadness, despair, and spiraling cycles of grief, anger, and misery coupled with frequent trips to the liquor store for bottles of Jack Daniel’s and liters of Coke. Therefore, the author has taken the liberty of supplying you, the publisher, with a box of tissues, a carton of cigarettes, a Mary Gauthier CD, and a six-pack of cheap beer to at least get you started.

    Possible side effects of reading this manuscript include headache from crying, sore throat from screaming “no more! No more darkness, please!”, red eyes and stuffed-up nose. Others include malaise, disrupted happiness, and an overall sense of angst and cynicism about the state of the human race. May also cause sneering in disdain at cute fluffy animals.

    There. Hope that helps.

    On a more serious note: write what the muses want you to write. Don’t fight ’em. And sometimes, your publisher is not your muse (bless their hearts).

    Keep on truckin’!

    Like

  3. Lori August 30, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Dear Bett,
    This is Sammie….for real, the live one that lives in Montgomery. Why so gloom and doom? Alabama football… on the way. Me too possibly. I need a Bett fix… beer, cigs and beach. Understand. Think of that pic I have of you in your red “gear” after a big game we won. Oh Yeah… see, now you are all happy. Remember HoJons….the dog races…. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

