Bett Norris

Perspectives

An American Person

“Ultimately, the American people won’t take ‘no’ for an answer.” President Obama.

Excuse me for a moment while I respond. I am an American person, and I refuse to take no for an answer to the jobs bill. I refuse to wait until the next election to have my voice heard.

I refuse to accept that a 96-year-old woman is forced to produce her marriage certificate before she is “allowed” to vote.

What part of “we are fed up, unemployed, hungry, worried, homeless, uninsured, and mad as hell” does Congress not get?

I have a sister who has been unemployed for a year and a half because her employer, New Era, closed all its American plants. (They make caps for major league baseball, but apparently not in the US any longer.)

I have a brother who was laid off along with everybody else at his job, but was refused unemployment benefits because he “confronted” his employer about it.

I have a sister who lost her job when her corporation was taken over by another, and after thirty years on the job, forced into early retirement.

I have a sister who lives on Social Security.

I work at a job that just reduced my pay, while my property taxes and health insurance increased.

I want Congress to do their job, and put people back to work, and I think it is fair that the wealthy pay their fair share of the tax burden to pay for the jobs bill.

I do not think it is ironic that police in Boston refused to let marchers onto a bridge to hang a sign reading “Fix this Bridge” because it would not hold their weight.

I think it is fair that corporations who are sitting on profits and refusing to invest in jobs lose tax loopholes.

I think that the Occupy Wall Street movement should surround the Capitol building in Washington and refuse to leave until the Jobs bill is passed. A 24/7 watch. Free coffee for any member of Congress who wants to join them.

Forget Wall Street. Occupy Congress from now until election day.

This is not politics as usual. This is personal. I am an American person who has never marched or protested, never joined a movement, never contributed in any way to politics or campaigns. And I am ready to do all those things. Where do I sign up?

Leave a Reply

