Bett Norris

Perspectives

I’m Seeing Red

Today and tomorrow, 2/26 and 3/37 the Supreme Court will hear arguments for and against marraige equality. Everyone is wearing red to show support. HRC changed their famous equality sign from blue to red.

HRC Red Equality

Here’s a great page to give live updates and an overview of the history of the cases:

http://www.hrc.org/standformarriage

So somewhere, a bunch of mostly older, mostly conservative, mostly male, mostly white judges are deciding whether when I go into the hospital, my partner can see me and make decisions for me without a bunch of papers in her hands. They will decide whether she can get widow’s benefits from Social Security when I die. They will choose whethe she has the right to bury me according to my wishes. whether she can inherit from me without paying huges taxes.

They decide. I see red.

Are you seeing red?

Leave a Reply

