Bett Norris

Perspectives

Lilies of the Field

“Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:” Mathew 6:28

So this week: we drove to St Pete, dug up a bunch of plants from our rental house (is this tacky? To take all the best plants before the new tenant moves in?) drove home, and replanted them. I bought a dump cart from Home Depot and put it together. Went to Walmart about a dozen times to get a prescription transferred; worked some on writing: so why is my back sore, why am I so tired? Last evening I fell into bed about 5 pm, slept until 11 pm, woke up, went back to bed at 12, and slept till 5 am this morning. ImageSo this peace lily you see here is a huge one, because it was originally three. One I got from the service when my stepdad died in 2000, one when my brother passed away in 2004, and one when my mother died in 2008. I hope it continues to thrive here at our new home.

We have these tiny green frogs that hang around the outside light to catch and eat moths. At first I thought they were cute. Yesterday when I stopped for gas, I opened up the cover to the gas thingy, and there were two of them, parched and almost dead. Jeez. Now they get into the house. No bigger than a thumbnail, easy to step on, even the cats are tired of them.

Yes, the remedy is at hand. We bought a huge outdoor light to put on a utility pole to draw the moths and thus the frogs away from us, but so far, we haven’t got it installed.

The lilies of the field may toil not, but we do. Digging holes, setting out plants and grass, watering. We toil, but it is fun. And when I say “we” I mean, of course, that Sandy toils while I watch.

The question remains, why does my back hurt so much? I have toiled not. I am staring at one of the green frogs on my window screen right now.

 

 

 

 

One response to “Lilies of the Field

  1. sallybellerose May 10, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Making me miss the spring peepers, which have not arrived. Also making me remember how annoying they can be. Happy planting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

