Bett Norris

Perspectives

Feeding Spiders

This morning I got up at 3:30 am. I have always been an early riser. Once I got up early so I could write before work, before others woke, when it was dark and still and quiet.Now I get up early so I can take my prescriptions, so that my twisted and swollen hands might start to work a litter sooner each day. Rheumatoid arthritis is a bitch.

Now that I am retired, I get up early to listen to the roosters crow. I heard the big owl call from the woods. From Farther away, I heard the cows. The peacocks must be late sleepers, because I usually hear them in the evenings. Twice this past week, I have seen armadillos shuffle, nose, waddle across the yard. The cat thinks they might be something to play with.

Mornings, which once were great inspiration, have now become a dreaded enemy. Morning means pain, taking medicine, waiting for it to shift the pain from intolerable to it’s still there but not as bad.  Not bad, not great, but tolerable.

We spend a great deal of time outside on the porch, watching the critters and talking. Most of our days are taken up with doctor appointments. It’s strange how busy we are. One day, sitting on the porch, we saw a huge spider web, stretch from the big oak to the ground, and n the other side from an adjacent tree. In the center, a huge spider. He swung from his structure like a mountain climber, spinning out new strands to strengthen his trap. We wondered whether we could catch a fly and feed it to him to observe what  he did with it. I still want to do that, but prevailing winds and rain forced him to move.

I just now realized that having that large spiderweb in the yard meant that we have not been out there in a while. We have had some cold days, and we built a fire a couple of times. As I write this I am facing east, and the sunrise is obscured due to gathering clouds. Bad weather is predicted for this morning, which means, thunderstorms and a tornado watch. I hear thunder already

I wonder what happens to Mr. Spider when a thunderstorm comes through.

Being retired means I have more time to care about things, and people.  A possible tornado is coming. I need to get the cat inside, and make sure Sandy is inside too. Low clouds and thunder.

2 responses to “Feeding Spiders

  1. Mary Nell November 17, 2014 at 8:27 am

    So sad for you that you have rheumatoid arthritis – but it hasn’t impaired your writing any!!! 🙂 Love your writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

